The Power of Sound

by

    Sound has a large and powerful affect on the human mood. The phrase ‘music tames the savage beast’ is, I believe, an accurate one. We use music to tame our wild emotions as well as lift our spirits. We play music:

  • At parties to lift the mood and create a fun atmosphere.
  • At sports events to charge the event with excitement.
  • At work to create a pleasant and work-inspiring environment.
  • During entertainment such as movies, plays, etc. The music heightens the drama.
  • During pregnancy and a child’s development years to promote the child’s healthy mind and body.
  • To relax and center ourselves from our busy lives.
  • To help create a personal sacred space.
  • To set the mood for romance. Oooo la la!

    In India a song (Raga) is made to express a particular mood (Rasa). This is true of Persian Dastga Music as well. While Western music creates similar effects we have not officially categorized our music in terms of the mood it promotes, yet.

    Years ago I attended a retreat led by a Native American Shaman named Beautiful Painted Arrow. The retreat was held out in an amazing forest. One day while I was playing the flute for some of the members of the retreat, Beautiful Painted Arrow came up to me and shared some wisdom that has impacted my life ever since. He told me that when I, or anyone, plays music, their inner experience is transmitted to the listeners. Music is a great service to the world because the musician can help create a beautiful world simply by playing beautiful music. Whatever state of being, or mood, the musician is in, is transmitted to the audience.

    An easy way for me to understand this is to think of the impact the tone of my voice has during a conversation. If I use an accusing or angry tone while conversing with someone, the impulsive response I get is usually one of defensiveness and/or anger. If I bring a peaceful disposition to communication, the conversation is usually quite peaceful and effective, even on many difficult topics.

    In a similar way, by playing music from an inspired internal place, the musician inspires his or her listeners to experience that same place inside them-selves.

Hence the musician is impacting his audience with his or her music in two primary ways:

  1. The actual music (including notes and silences) that he or she is playing impacts the audience. Rowdy music, disconnected sounds, etc. will have a very different affect on the audience than melodious music. Please note: I do not hold one as superior to the other, they simply support different purposes.
  2. The mood, or space, the musician is in while playing. The musician’s mood is amplified and holds the space for the audience to join them there.

I build saxophone mouthpieces with four intentions:

  1. To inspire and support musician’s in expressing their inner voice.
    1. This means making mouthpieces the musician doesn’t have to fight in order to express themselves.
    2. To make mouthpieces that can translate the musician’s authentic inner voice into audible sound-waves.
  2. To bring specific types of sound, that only certain mouthpiece configurations like the True-Large Chamber can create, out into the musical world. Not only does the musician playing experience the beauty inherent in these mouthpiece configurations, but their audiences do as well.
  3. To create a piece of art. Even physical beauty inspires!
  4. To create a domino effect of beauty. By helping the musician have a wonderful experience playing, the musician then shares their beautiful experience with their audience. Then the audience shares that experience with friends and family, and so on.

        The domino effect can start anywhere….I simply want to be part of it! For example, about two weeks ago we ordered way too many shipping boxes. These arrived in a tiny shipping station for pick-up. I couldn’t figure out how transport all the boxes in my small car so they sat there until I arranged the use of another car to come pick them up. When I arrived to load the boxes I noticed the boxes had taken a good quarter of the station attendant’s already tiny working area for the last week. I felt horrible! But the man, with a big kind smile on his face, started helping me load and carry all the boxes. He was not upset at me. In fact he showed great compassion. He even arranged for me to have half the boxes returned too. Wow! This guy was like a saint. He inspired me! I went home inspired to put as much care in my work as this man did in his. Hopefully my inspiration is evident in our products, and so on.

    If even in a small way, I believe it is possible for Theo Wanne Classic Mouthpieces to be part of creating a more beautiful world. It is my hope and prayer that our products will inspire and assist musicians to experience and express their inner beauty and share that beauty with their fans and audiences.

    It may not be the same as creating a peace agreement between the world powers. But because I believe in the power of sound, it is my belief that promoting beautiful music helps, to some degree, in the formation of a more beautiful world.

3 Responses to “The Power of Sound”

  1. david tondi Says:

    your words are like music to my eyes!

  2. Edward Zlotnick Says:

    A life without cause is a life without effect.
    -Barbarella

  3. SHARAREH Says:

    what interesting thoughts! I enjoy reading them.I’m Persian and know a little bit of the RADIF, play a little se-taar, (3) taar, Santoor and piano! bought one of your mouthpieces for a dear friend abroad, couple of months ago and he is enjoying that to the max! I do Bikram Yoga 3 times a week and in a very good place in life, best of everything for you two, in every thing you do:)

Leave a Reply

