AUTHENTICITY

by

When I first started my spiritual path almost 30 years ago I read a lot about the qualities of the Buddha, and other awakened saints. I wanted those qualities in myself so I acted them out in my life. I acted honest, caring, compassion, wise and peaceful.

The problem was that I really wasn’t these qualities; I just wore them like a coat. They become my role, image or act.

Then, years later, came my real spiritual path. I started to acknowledge and accept all the judgement, lust, desire, arrogance and insecurity inside of me. All of which I tried to cover up with my act.

  • By acknowledging these negative qualities to myself and others I became truly honest.
  • By accepting these qualities in myself I became truly caring.
  • Because I accepted these qualities in me, I started accepting them in others and so became truly compassionate.
  • The process of self-acceptance is real wisdom.
  • And the result of this work has been real peace in my life.

It seems like a cosmic joke to me that in acting compassionate, caring, wise and peaceful I was none of those things. I was actually arrogant and dishonest. But in the acceptance of my arrogance and the negative qualities I was covering up, real compassion, caring, wisdom and peace has arisen on its own.

While every single human being has their own individual act they play, I believe the process to the yummy qualities of honesty, caring, compassion, wisdom, and peace is the same. That process is self-acceptance; to love and embrace ourselves just as we are right now.

Allowing my authentic and real self to shine, un-restrained, has been my life’s work. It is my experience that when we accept ourselves just as we are that we then accept others just as they are. And this is how peace will come into our families, work places, and in the world. For it is un-acceptance of others how they are, and the insistence that they change, that causes wars.

Finding my musical voice has been an identical process. It has been a process of letting go of how I think a good musician should sound, and playing what feels authentic to me.

It is a lot less work to flow from an authentic inner place in life and in music, than it is to act a role. And after all, aren’t most of the jazz greats considered great because they brought their own unique voice into the world!!!

3 Responses to “AUTHENTICITY”

  1. Mike Pierce Says:

    Theo,
    I came here looking at mouthpieces and had no idea you were into this! Extremely well said; accepting our’s and everyone else’s so-called negative qualities reminds me of what the Buddha said when he was asked how one could eliminate suffering in life. He said “Life IS suffering.”!

    So…………..I guess we better just accept it or suffer all the more for not accepting it (talk about paradox!). It took me more than 50 years to understand this; everyone goes through their contortions to manifest their particular brand of suffering in this world, including myself. That’s how it is; accept it. Look for their beauty AND their suffering. And for those of us fortunate to be in the world of art; express it!
    Thanks for posting this……..

    Peace,
    Mike

  2. JOSEPH A. GARRAMBONE Says:

    MR. WANNE: YOUR STATEMENTS ON “AUTHENTICITY” ARE TRUELY INSIGHTFUL. THIS TOPIC SEEMS TO BE SO GERMANE TO THE EMOTIONAL AND PHILOSOPHICAL STATE OF MOST AMERICANS TODAY. WE HAVE BEEN SO INUNDATED WITH HOLLOW HYPE AND MASKED AGENDAS THAT WE HAVE LOST SIGHT OF THE NEED TO BE TRUTHFUL WITH OURSELVES. WE SEEM TO BE LOST IN AN “IMITATION OF LIFE” JUST “ACTING” AND FEARFUL OF “REACTING” TO ISSUES THAT REALLY GO AGAINST OUR TRUE INNER FEELINGS. SADLY, THE PRICE OF GAINING WISDOM INTO THIS INSIPIENT PATTERN IS HAVING TO SUFFER THROUGH ITS ILL EFFECTS BEFORE WE SEE THE LIGHT-AS YOU DID. YET, IF WE JUST ACCEPT ALL AND NOT JUDGE; DO WE EVER GROW? CAN WE EFFECT OUR KARMA OR ARE WE LOCKED INTO PASSIVE ACCEPTANCE WHICH MAY STAGNATE AND DELAY OUR SPIRITUAL AND EMOTIONAL ASCENDANCE. IT SEEMS, IN OUR ATTEMPT TO BE ACCEPTED BY OUR PEERS, WE HAVE LOST OUR WAY, LOST OUR FAITH IN OURSELVES BECAUSE WE’VE BEEN HIDING OUR TRUE INNER FEELINGS IN AN ATTEMPT TO BE ”NONJUDGEMENTAL”.
    IN A WORLD WHERE EVERYTHING IS O.K. AND NOTHING CAN BE JUDGED AS WRONG, WHERE DO WE LOOK TO SEE WHAT IS RIGHT?

    • Theo Wanne Says:

      Dear Joseph,
      You raise a very good question.

      My experience has shown me that in the very act of accepting things as they are, a clarity of vision arrises. In this clarity, team work, compassion, and understanding and action are seen to work better than selfishness, anger, deceit and stagnancy. Through not judging, the intuitive ability to do the right thing becomes obvious and just the intelligent thing to do.

      It is not necessary to judge something as wrong in order to see clearly that it does not work. It is not necessary to judge something as right in order to do it. I simply try to do what works. Being stagnant and passive does not work well in my life. Actively living my life in integrity and responsibility not only makes my life better, but moves me forward on my spiritual path…..

      Blessings, Theo

Leave a Reply

